Chapter 2: Let’s ask the God!

-continue from Chapter 1: Dinner and Shadow
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Are you sure?”

“No, I am not .. and that is why I feel,… a bit mystical about it. I don’t know whether I have hallucinated or really a guardian angel or .. you know Dee… it’s the 7th month in Chinese Calendar.”

“What does that mean?” asked Deanne, my best friend.

I don’t blame her. She is not Chinese, so it would be difficult for her to understand what that means. I am all prepared to explain to her, but it is quite tricky to do so in the 7th month.

“Well, it is Chinese Halloween. Of course, 10 times spookier as it is not about having everyone to dress up or trick or treat. But really, we believe the gates of hell open every year the whole 7th month of the Chinese calendar. Well you know how we celebrate Chinese New Year sometimes in Jan and sometimes in Feb?”

“Yes. You explained to me before that the Chinese calendar is different to the Julian calendar. It changes in accordance to the lunar and solar instead.”

“That’s right Dee. Spirits and …. erm… ghost… wander around to visit their family, relatives and friends. But these are the good ones, some say the evil ones are released too.”

“But you aren’t going to believe that was a ghost spirit in your house on Sat, are you?”

“Well… I am not sure Dee… I hope not. Or else, I will have bad luck for 3 years!”

“You are SO superstitious, El, you know. Let’s go.. we have to get back to class.”

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I can’t quite concentrate the whole day although I pretended nothing ever happened. I tried to clean the pot as much as I could after the incident last night, leaving little or no trace of the burnt pot. I tried few methods, from boiling vinegar and scraping the burnt marks inside the pot to using metal sponge to remove it. I think I managed to remove about 70% to 80% of it. Luckily I have “burnt” the pot quite a lot and so I should let it remains now. Otherwise it will create suspicion. My mum didn’t ask me anything about the pot, so I guess, I have done it all right.

Whilst my mind is wandering ….

“Let’s go to Thean Di temple to consult a medium. My cousin told me she went asked about her love life few years ago and she claimed the reading is rather accurate.”

Although Dee is not a Chinese, entirely, her cousin is married to a Chinese girl.

“You told your cousin??”

“No, … well I didn’t tell him it’s you.”

“But Dee, who else could it be? I am sure Aidan knew it’s me!”

“Well, doesn’t matter El. What matters now is, you don’t look very settling after the incident.”

“I’m ok, Dee, I just feel.. still… intrigued. You know me.”

“Yes, that is why I told Ching Yau, as you know I don’t really have that many close Chinese friends.”

“Sorry, Dee.”

“Now listen. She told me that she consulted the medium when she was younger and eerie enough, she claimed the readings have always been so accurate. Just go and try, and see what the medium has to say.”

“Ehmm… I’m not sure Dee…. I don’t really believe this kind of thing. Well, not entirely. You know, there are so many money sucking mediums who just try to squeeze every penny you have. Besides I don’t have money to do the consultation.”

“Well not if Ching Yau can recommend someone she consulted before. Don’t worry I’ll ask her how much we need to expect to pay and you can decide… !”

“Well… ok!”

Dee seemed more excited than I am now. I can’t believe she is the one who asked me to consult a medium.

Categories: Fiction, Romance | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

